RE: FAMILY

Yesterday this was sent to me in my inbox by loyal reader A. Renae. She had seen it on Facebook (which I’m not a part of) and decided to share it with me. The sad part about this is that it rings true for a lot of families and we all must do better and not just with talk. Interestingly enough, I was watching Braxton Family Values the other night (I told y’all that I watch a lot of reality tv)and one of the sisters said to the others “I don’t know y’all anymore, Everybody’s doing their own thing and we don’t talk like we used to.”
How relevant is this in your family….AND what are you going to do about it? Check out what was sent to me below:

“It’s so Sad 😞 But The Truth! #Family ain’t what it used to be no more . It used to be a time when you could go to your grandmother/aunt house to get a plate, see your grandmama/aunt, chill with your cousins and just have fun. Now everybody CHOOSE who they wanna deal with, aunts/uncles CHOOSE which kids to be proud of, father(dads) CHOOSE which kids he want to take care of or which kids he want to deal with. Brothers and sisters treat friends better than family. 🤔 Cousins talk about their own family members and don’t realized their life is no better… Now the only time you see family is during a funeral. This cycle needs to change. 😟😒 Copy & Paste if you agree!!!!
Sometimes we have to be the one to make the change/difference. I intend to be the change. Love my family. All of them . Much love family.”

4 thoughts on “RE: FAMILY

  1. You are absolutely right but I think one of the main reasons is because of the fast pace of this world and everyone looking to make big bucks moving where ever that takes them, many miles separate families in this day and age.
    When I was growing up in the 40′, 50’s etc. most families all lived in the same area. We had the ability to spend time with family because we lived close to each other. Also Sunday all businesses were closed except for the power company, telephone company, police, firemen, and soldiers worked seven days a week. You lived with your parents until you married. Life was very different and families were much closer then.I feel lucky to be a part of that era. I am part of our history that you will never see again. I have lived it. ☺☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • After reading what you wrote I can truly say that you really put it all in perspective. We now live in a microwave society where people essentially push a button and get things so quick (so fast paced). Families chasing the dollar are definitely separated from each other. We see each other on holidays or special occasions but that day to day or even week to week interaction is now non-existent. AND you’re correct about businesses used to not open on Sundays. Those WERE the good old days. BUT I guess it’s all relative because we can’t have it both ways. There is a sacrifice that has to be made one way or the other. Thanks for your perspective on this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

