UNCONDITIONAL LOVE? YOU BE THE JUDGE

ervinervin1

Truthfully answer this question.  Imagine this scenario:  You have two kids who are now in their late teens and early twenties.  One day, they try to murder you and your spouse and then attempt to burn the house down.  You and your spouse have very visible injuries.  Could you forgive these MONSTERS???

BROTHERS

I did in fact call them MONSTERS! I brought this up because the Georgia parents who are in this situation, Yvonne and Zachery Ervin, recently spoke to the media and said that they forgive their sons for carrying out this heinous act against them. I originally posted their story on September 7, 2015.   “Those were not our boys that did that to us. We did not raise our boys that way,” Yvonne Ervin told Channel 2’s Tony Thomas. “We understand there are consequences for what they did. They understand that, but we’re just praying that the world forgives them in the same way that we forgive them,” said Mrs. Ervin. The young men are accused of drugging their parents, assaulting them, and trying to blow up their home which is located on Forbes Trail in Gwinnett County.

One of the Atlanta-area brothers accused of trying to kill their parents told investigators he had schemed to murder them “since he was 11 years old,” police said. Mrs. Ervin went on to say that “we forgive our sons and love them unconditionally. And we had to make sure that they understand that.” Okay, one thing I do know a lot about is forgiveness.  I also know that you can forgive someone without ever trusting them again.  I can’t imagine the parents ever letting these MONSTERS back into their home again.  As a matter of fact, if I were them, I would consider moving without ever letting them know where I moved.  These MONSTERS tried unsuccessfully to kill their parents the first time, and the parents may not be so lucky if their “sons” get a second chance to finish what they started.

I recently had a conversation with a few co-workers about this situation and several points were brought up that I had not considered. Is there something more sinister going on here that the media has not yet touched upon? Were these boys abused…sexually? Were they mentally abused?  Were they on drugs? These were just a few of the questions that my co-workers brought up. I really have no idea and I certainly do not want to victimize the victims. But…..who are the real victims here? I want to know your thoughts about this horrific situation.

2 thoughts on “UNCONDITIONAL LOVE? YOU BE THE JUDGE

  1. You are so correct that we can forgive without trusting the person again. Regardless of how the brothers were raised, they made their own decision and actually plotted to kill their parents.

    Like

    • This is one of those stories that I intend to follow to find out what really happened. Something about it just does not sit well with me. What would make a kid plot against his parents from the time that he is 1 years old? SOMETHING… just ain’t right. Maybe mental issues, maybe just evil, or….. I just plain don’t know. The saga continues…………
      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

