SERENA WINS 20TH MAJOR AT FRENCH OPEN

Williams says No. 20 was about as tough as any of her majors

Hours before American Pharoah ran his way into history with the Triple Crown, Serena Williams inched her way closer to history with her third time win of the French Open.  This was William’s 20th career major win and three major wins away from overtaking Steffi Graff as the best women’s tennis player in the open era.

Serena has had to fight off many opponents to get to this point in her storied career.

”It’s hard. I need to sit down and, like, rank them,” Williams told a small group of reporters Saturday evening after becoming the third player in tennis history to get No. 20. ”This is up there, because I was not at my best.”

She had even considered pulling out of this tournament due to an illness that left her coughing and throwing up during matches.  Williams had to come from behind (2-0) in the third set before taking the last six games.  In four of her other matches, she lost the 1st set before battling back to make it to the finals at Roland Garros.

”Down a break. Down a break. Down a break. Down a break. And I just kept coming back and I kept fighting,” Williams said, reflecting on her circuitous route through the draw. ”I just kept thinking, ‘I’m not going to give up. I’m not going to stop. I’m just going to do the best I can.’ And it just really kind of goes to show that old adage of ‘never give up.”’

If you’ve ever watcher her play, you know that she is a force to be reckoned with for many years to come.  For all intents and purposed, I believe, she is in fact the best women’s tennis player ever.  Only time will tell but from the looks of things, it won’t be much more time before we will know for sure.

 

Leave a Reply

