PICTURE THIS…***UPDATE***

I realize I am a day late on this but here is the information that I promised on a previous post. You be the judge as to what is going on and please make wise decisions accordingly.
omar1omar2omar3omar4
One of the loyal readers of this blog contacted me to look into her situation involving Georgia Farm Bureau. I was really not prepared for what I found. I initially thought that this was a case where the reader had been overlooked and the situation would easily be resolved. Boy was I wrong. For the sake of her confidentially, I am not going to list her name just yet. Here’s what I know. Mrs. Smith (not her real name) returned to her home from California to find that her ceiling was leaking in several places in her home. As a 10 year customer of Georgia Farm Bureau, she called them to file a claim. As a matter of fact, instead of me paraphrasing, I will let you read the email that she recently sent to them:

Greetings Georgia Farm Bureau,

My name is____________. My home at ______________ is insured by your company (Georgia
Farm Bureau) Policy #__________. Over the past couple of years, there have been numerous communications between your company and me. My complaint for repairs to the aforementioned
home address, has essentially been ignored (yes, I said ignored!!!). This has taken a toll on an individual
who prides herself in paying all of her bills on time, including insurance premiums to your company, over the last ten years. One of the proudest moments of my life was when I purchased my home. After I made this investment, I wanted to find the best insurance company possible to protect my investment. I chose Georgia Farm Bureau. However, that decision has turned out to be a huge mistake. This is where I’ll start. At this point, I am so frustrated with the service that I have received from your company that I almost sent a complaint letter to the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner at 2 Martin Luther
King, Jr. Drive Atlanta, GA 30334, and the Better Business Bureau 503 Oak Place, Suite 590 Atlanta, GA
30349. With your company, I have been dealing with a claims representative by the name of Earl
Cunningham. Instead of immediately filing a complaint against you, I have decided to give you one last opportunity to resolve my issue before I go there… and elsewhere. I WILL NOT BE THE VICTIM!
I have been a loyal customer with this company for over a decade, have never filed a single complaint, and have always paid my premiums on time. I’m sure your records can confirm the same.

There is substantial damage to my roof. In the spring of 2012 you were initially contacted regarding roof damage and leakage (with apparent water spots in my ceiling). You did nothing. Then on March 18,
2013, you were notified that we had a class 4-5 hail storm (baseball-sized hail) which caused much damage to the terra cotta roofs in our entire subdivision. You then sent out a group from Macon, GA, Custard, in the spring of 2013. Their recommendation put a small bandage on a major cut. The water spots have grown exponentially. Mr. Cunningham has witnessed the new spots and the old ones that have bled through once again. Several contractors have been out and declared that my roof need to be replaced. Several estimates have been submitted to your office (including one from Clear Skies) all to no avail. There have been a number of storms since that time, most recent was a snow/ice storm, and no repairs have been done to my home (my investment). I will not sit on the sidelines any longer while my investment is rapidly depreciating in value. If my complaint is not resolved to my satisfaction by February 10,2014, my next letter will go to the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner, the Better Business Bureau, and elsewhere.
PLEASE RESOLVE THIS ISSUE! YOU’VE HAD ADEQUATE TIME!

Regards

Mrs. Smith (not her real name) was then contacted by her agent who indicated that her claims representative would call her. When the information was passed to me, I called the insurance Agent, Michelle Phillips who referred me to their claims department. I called the claims department and was referred to the claims adjuster, Earl Cunningham. I called and spoke with Cunningham who asked that I email him and he would respond. I have in fact emailed Cunningham with no response.
I went online to check out Georgia Farm Bureau and I found a plethora of complaints against this company for refusing to pay up. I also found the following petition:
Please look into the business practices of Georgia Farm Bureau Insurance
Petition by
Don DeRossett
Duluth, GA
Because of the ultimate protection that may be afforded the public after the Commissioner investigates Farm Bureau’s abandonment of myself, my 83 year old mom and our fire loss at the home she grew up in at 1014 Wilson Rd., Rossville, Ga. 30741.
As that story is more fully told in my petition letter to the Commissioner (which you may view by clicking on the “Petition Letter” tab just above), it is not all the Commissioner should consider when looking into Farm Bureau’s conduct.
Aside from the stories that will likely emerge from others when signing my petition, the Commissioner should also attempt to determine why Farm Bureau had its “Financial Strength Rating” (FSR) downgraded 3 times and its “Issuer Credit Rating” (ICR) 4 times since 2007 by AM Best (a Financial Analysis Firm) and why AM Best currently ranks Farm Bureau’s “Outlook/Implication” on both its FSR and ICR as “NEGATIVE”. That report shows the most recent downgrades as March 29, 2012 and is linked into the DOI website and may be reviewed by clicking on;
http://www.oci.ga.gov/Insurers/NewCompanySearchDetails.aspx?DI=107996&TYPE=PC .
Once in that site, you may see Farm Bureau’s downgrade history by AM Best by clicking on the “AM Best” small logo @ right, then the blue “Georgia Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co.” link, and then the blue “News and Press Releases” link.
Then, after review of all the above, please consider signing my petition where you may add your own valuable comment particularly if you have a similar story of abandonment at the hands of Farm Bureau, which will be added to the “Petition Update” section (which is available after you sign) and forwarded to the Commissioner. Also, please note that you do not have to live in Georgia to sign.
Then, please consider forwarding my introductory e-mail w/ link to this site (with its pictorial attachment) or this petition site itself to those you know. Thanks and feel free to e-mail me, the organizer of this petition, at donderossett@comcast.net, if you like and I will respond as I am able.
Does this seem like an insurance company that you want to be involved with? You be the judge and stay tuned. There is certainly more to come…

Leave a Reply

